Gelatin in Becel??

Candace, 24 September 2006, No comments
Categories: Food, Life

Since when is there gelatin in becel margarine? The kids like margarine on a bagel now and then – or on corn on the cob. A container lasts us a really long time so I don’t mind spending a bit more to get something with ingredients I can pronounce. I read labels today at the grocery store to try and remember why I got Becel last time and was blown away to see the ingredients have changed to now include gelatin. Gross. Horns and hooves is what that means…absolutely gross. I don’t think it should be that hard to find an all vegetable based spread but I read labels for several minutes before I found one that had no animal products in it. Even Canola Harvest which I’m sure used to be vegan now contains whey. I found some brand I’d never heard of with all veg ingredients and it claims to be dairy free. It’s also calorie-reduced which my kids don’t really need but maybe I’ll be tempted to put some on some popcorn and share with them.


No Responses, Leave a Reply
  1. sarah
    17 June 2008, 7:26 pm

    Gelatin is not made of horns and hooves. It is made of bone, intestine, connective tissues, and skin from animals. Just so you know. It is totally disgusting!

  2. Candace
    18 June 2008, 11:35 am

    Thanks Sarah. And yes, gross indeed.

  3. john
    12 December 2008, 10:55 pm

    Gross, I think I will stick to hot dogs.

  4. Rys Mom
    14 January 2009, 11:47 am

    I don’t know what kind of Becel you are buying but the regu;ar type does not contain gelatin. The lighter versions do as it’s a bining agent. A lot of foods we eat are made from gelatin which is actually a natural thing. (we eat the rest of the cow)

    Just thought I’d share

  5. Mary cameron
    16 February 2010, 9:23 pm

    Could someone advise on the chemical content in BECEL as it is one area where answers are not forthocming
    In fact it almost appears as if this information is deliberately being kept from us.

Leave a Reply:

Name *

Mail (hidden) *